Skip to main content

Historic Sites

As well as being a vibrant and thriving twenty-first-century city, Bath is a living museum. History and heritage line the city’s streets, with every footstep revealing compelling cultural attractions and astonishing architecture. It’s why Bath is the only city in the UK designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

It all starts at the Roman Baths, the city’s oldest and most famous historic attraction. The beautifully preserved ruins have been augmented by reconstructions and interactive displays illustrating how Bath’s natural hot springs have been attracting visitors for thousands of years. It offers an immersive insight into the daily lives of some of our city’s earliest inhabitants.

Bath’s Roman roots are just part of the story. We’re also Britain’s finest Georgian city. Every street reveals another inspiring sight – a wide, well-planned thoroughfare created for promenading, perhaps, or that perfectly proportioned façade, flower-filled window box or subtle architectural detail.

There’s harmony and beauty everywhere. Around 5,000 listed buildings are dotted around our streets and squares. These include iconic sites like the Royal Crescent, a sweeping curve of townhouses built from honey-coloured Bath stone, and The Circus, a unique blend of classical Roman and British Pagan influences that is uniquely Bath.

The elegant Pulteney Bridge is another Bath original. Lined on both sides with shops, it’s one of just four such structures left in the world.  You’d need to go to Venice or Florence to see another like it.

There is lots to see inside too. Bath is home to an impressive collection of museums (more per square mile than any other city in the UK). Take your pick from the Jane Austen Centre, No.1 Royal Crescent, Fashion Museum, Museum of East Asian Art, Holburne Museum, Museum of Bath at Work and Herschel Museum of Astronomy, to name but a few.

For the full lowdown on Bath’s UNESCO World Heritage status, download our audio walking tour to your smartphone. Taking in many of the city’s historic architectural highlights and museums, it’s the perfect way to explore Bath’s past.

The Bishop’s Palace and Gardens Stunning Medieval Bishop's Palace with 14 acres of mature, landscaped gardens to enjoy, ... /listings/single/the-bishops-palace-gardens
Assembly Rooms The social epicentre of Georgian Bath. /listings/single/assembly-rooms
Wells Cathedral The 'most poetic of the English Cathedrals' set in the heart of ... /listings/single/wells-cathedral
Sydney Gardens One of the few remaining eighteenth-century pleasure gardens in the UK. /listings/single/sydney-gardens
Bath’s Original Theatre Royal and Masonic Hall Museum Take a guided tour of Bath's first Theatre Royal, opened in 1750, and ... /listings/single/baths-original-theatre-royal-masonic-hall-museum
Stanton Drew Stone Circle Ancient standing stones swathed in local folklore. /listings/single/stanton-drew-stone-circle
Tyntesfield A spectacular Victorian Gothic revival house with gardens and parkland. /listings/single/tyntesfield
Corsham Court A stately home and art gallery with stunning gardens. /listings/single/corsham-court
The Royal Crescent One of Bath's most iconic architectural landmarks. /listings/single/the-royal-crescent
Bath Street With its impressive colonnades and cobbled paving, Bath Street is incredibly picturesque. /listings/single/bath-street
The Roman Baths The epicentre (and raison d'être!) of the World Heritage city of ... /listings/single/roman-baths
Iford Manor Gardens Just outside of Bath, discover this award-winning garden hidden in a tranquil ... /listings/single/iford-manor-and-the-peto-garden
The Royal Mint Experience The only place in the world where you can watch the United ... /listings/single/the-royal-mint-experience
Somerset Rural Life Museum Somerset Rural Life Museum is family-friendly with something for everyone. /listings/single/somerset-rural-life-museum
American Museum and Gardens Journey through the history of America. /listings/single/american-museum-and-gardens
Herschel Museum of Astronomy Explore the life of William Herschel, the astronomer who discovered Uranus in 1781. /listings/single/herschel-museum-of-astronomy
Bowood House and Gardens An outstanding eighteenth-century mansion house estate. /listings/single/bowood-house-and-gardens
Beckford’s Tower and Museum A nineteenth-century folly and museum collection, offering splendid cityscape views. /listings/single/beckfords-tower-museum
Cheddar Gorge & Caves A famous UK beauty spot, with caves and clifftops. /listings/single/cheddar-gorge
Avebury Manor and Garden A sixteenth-century manor at the heart of the Avebury World Heritage Site. /listings/single/avebury-manor-and-garden
Downside Abbey A Roman Catholic monastery 12 miles south west of Bath. /listings/single/downside-abbey
Cleveland Pools Enjoy a tour of Bath's hidden Georgian lido. /listings/single/cleveland-pools
Stonehenge Stonehenge stands impressively as a prehistoric monument of unique importance, a World ... /listings/single/stonehenge
No.1 Royal Crescent Step back 250 years;sumptuous townhouse museum with summertime views of the Royal ... /listings/single/no.1-royal-crescent
Salisbury Cathedral Salisbury Cathedral proudly features Britain's tallest spire, the world's oldest working mechanical ... /listings/single/salisbury-cathedral
Museum of Bath Architecture Discover how Bath was designed and built, from medieval town to World ... /listings/single/museum-of-bath-architecture
Museum of Bath at Work Explore 2,000 years of Bath's working history, from the Romans to the Victorians. /listings/single/museum-of-bath-at-work
The Holburne Museum Fascinating art exhibitions in an impressively majestic setting. /listings/single/the-holburne-museum
Prior Park Landscape Garden Explore a magnificent eighteenth-century landscape garden offering stunning views of Bath. /listings/single/prior-park-landscape-garden
Chippenham A lively Wiltshire market town, 14 miles east of Bath. /listings/single/chippenham
Queen Square Gently imposing historic Georgian architecture. /listings/single/queen-square
Bath Abbey A historic, richly atmospheric place of worship. /listings/single/bath-abbey
Pulteney Bridge A historic, shop-lined bridge spanning the River Avon. /listings/single/pulteney-bridge
Great Pulteney Street At over 1,000 feet long and 100 feet wide, Great Pulteney Street is the ... /listings/single/great-pulteney-street
St Michael’s Without Peace, quiet and contemplation under one historic roof. /listings/single/st-michaels-without
Avon Valley Railway The Avon Valley Railway is returning steam to the Avon Valley. /listings/single/avon-valley-railway
Longleat The UK's original safari park, with over 1,200 animals and more than 480 years ... /listings/single/longleat
Sally Lunn’s Kitchen Museum See where the local delicacy, the original Bath bun, was born, in ... /listings/single/sally-lunns-historic-eating-house-museum
Lacock Abbey, Village and Fox Talbot Museum There's something for everyone at Lacock; the medieval abbey turned family home, ... /listings/single/lacock-abbey-village-and-fox-talbot-museum
Dyrham Park An elegant seventeenth-century mansion and deer park set in acres of rolling ... /listings/single/dyrham-park
Theatre Royal Bath Bath's historic, beautifully-renovated, traditional theatre. /listings/single/theatre-royal-bath
High Parts Tours at Wells Cathedral Climb the spiral staircase and go behind-the-scenes to walk in the footsteps ... /listings/single/high-parts-tours-at-wells-cathedral
Pump Room At the heart of the Bath social (and high tea!) scene for ... /listings/single/pump-room
The Circus A striking masterpiece of Georgian architecture. /listings/single/the-circus

NUMBER OF RESULTS: 46

{feature:title}

Beckford’s Tower and Museum

Bath

A nineteenth-century folly and museum collection, offering splendid cityscape views.

TripAdvisor® Rating 71 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

Downside Abbey

Radstock

A Roman Catholic monastery 12 miles south west of Bath.

{feature:title}

Pump Room

At the heart of the Bath social (and high tea!) scene for ...

TripAdvisor® Rating 2721 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

Bowood House and Gardens

Calne

An outstanding eighteenth-century mansion house estate.

TripAdvisor® Rating 518 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

Great Pulteney Street

Central Bath

At over 1,000 feet long and 100 feet wide, Great Pulteney Street is the ...

{feature:title}

The Royal Mint Experience

The only place in the world where you can watch the United ...

TripAdvisor® Rating 1390 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

Avon Valley Railway

Bitton

The Avon Valley Railway is returning steam to the Avon Valley.

TripAdvisor® Rating 396 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

Queen Square

Central Bath

Gently imposing historic Georgian architecture.

{feature:title}

Bath Abbey

Central Bath

A historic, richly atmospheric place of worship.

TripAdvisor® Rating 7536 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

The Royal Crescent

Central Bath

One of Bath's most iconic architectural landmarks.

{feature:title}

Tyntesfield

Bristol

A spectacular Victorian Gothic revival house with gardens and parkland.

TripAdvisor® Rating 1362 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

National Trust Properties

Bristol and Bath

Discover stunning country houses, peaceful gardens and scenic trails.

{feature:title}

Wells Cathedral

Wells

The 'most poetic of the English Cathedrals' set in the heart of ...

TripAdvisor® Rating 3371 Reviews
Read more
{feature:title}

Bath Preservation Trust

Through conservation, education and museums, Bath Preservation Trust ensures the future success ...

{feature:title}

No.1 Royal Crescent

Central Bath

Step back 250 years;sumptuous townhouse museum with summertime views of the Royal ...

TripAdvisor® Rating 2625 Reviews
Read more