Museum of Bath Architecture
This museum interprets the rich architectural history of Bath, and the men who transformed a provincial town into the world famous Georgian Spa. It demonstrates how classical design influenced the buildings, and illustrates the construction of a house from the cellars to the rafters. Based in the historic Countess of Huntingdon’s Chapel, the building is also home to the Bath Model, a fully detailed architectural model of the historic city centre, giving a unique insight into the layout of the Georgian City.
The Museum of Bath Architecture also houses the Archives of the Bath Preservation Trust, which are searchable online. They include the Bath Buildings Record, which can be viewed by appointment. The Bath Buildings Record undertook to record, survey and rescue where possible, details comprising the large number of buildings that were earmarked for clearance as part of Bath’s modernisation in the 1960’s and 1970’s.
In 1765 Selina Hastings, Countess of Huntingdon, built a chapel to fight the decadence of Georgian Bath. Now the home of the Museum of Bath Architecture, this building remains the only complete eighteenth-century Gothic Revival building in Bath, and houses a room dedicated to the history of the building and the devoutly determined Lady who created it.