Queen Square, in the heart of Bath, was designed and built by John Wood the Elder between 1728 and 1736.
It marks the beginning of his development of the upper town and is a key part of the formal grouping with the Circus and the Royal Crescent.
The focal point of the square is the obelisk, with its inscription by Alexander Pope. It was erected by Beau Nash in 1738 in honour of a visit by Frederick, Prince of Wales. The obelisk used to have a needle point, but it was blunted after being struck by lightning in the 1830s.
Jane Austen stayed here, at number 13 on the south side of the square, in May 1799. It was a wise time to come for the square looks its best in May, when all the cherry blossom is out.
Today the square is the heart of Bath’s professional district and an ideal city centre retreat to sit and relax, enjoy a picnic, or take part in the annual Bath Boules tournament.
Queen Square is home to the Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution (BRLSI), the four-star Francis Hotel, and also hosts many vibrant artisan and European markets throughout the year.